ISAKOS Fellowships >>

The ISAKOS Fellowship and Awards Program is committed to recognizing and honoring researchers whose work has contributed to better understanding and communication within the fields of Arthroscopy, Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports Medicine.

Applicants, please note: Presenting authors are allowed one submission per award. Additionally, each abstract may only be applied to one of the following awards. To be considered for an Award or Fellowship, abstracts and award applications must be submitted before September 10, 2016. Individuals are only permitted to receive one award or fellowship per Congress.

John J. Joyce

John J. Joyce Award

In 1981, Dr. John J. Joyce III offered a monetary prize for the best arthroscopy paper read by an orthopaedic surgery resident or fellow during the Scientific Program of the 4th Congress of the International Arthroscopy Association in Rio de Janeiro. Joyce then endowed a prize to be awarded at every IAA Congress thereafter. The award was created with the intention to stimulate and reward younger members who contribute high-quality data and presentations.

Richard B. Caspari

Richard B. Caspari Award

Richard B. Caspari was an innovator, teacher and leader in the field of Arthroscopy. Beginning at the 2003 ISAKOS Congress in Auckland, New Zealand, a monetary prize in honor of Caspari was awarded to the best upper extremity paper read at the scientific program of the congress. The Richard B. Caspari award was established with the intention of stimulating and rewarding upper extremity focused abstracts and presentations.

Jan I. Gillquist

Jan I. Gillquist Scientific Research Award

Sponsored by Ossur

Jan I. Gillquist was a pioneer in the fields of knee surgery and sports medicine, well known for his dedication to the scientific method, most particularly related to the systematic approach to the entire chain of treatment of knee injuries; a correct diagnosis and pre-operative assessment, surgery and post-operative rehabilitation and the treatment of ACL injuries without surgery but with rehabilitation alone. According to Prof. Guillquist, “Everything was possible and nothing impossible to question.” His passion was good science, correct science, and he was never afraid of sharp and critical questions; everything should be questioned and systematically studied.

Albert Trillat

Albert Trillat Young Investigator's Award

In 1989, The International Society of the Knee established a Young Investigator’s Research Award in memory of Professor Albert Trillat. Past President and founder of the International Society of the Knee, Trillat was a pioneer in knee surgery and sports traumatology. This award provides recognition for a young researcher who has done outstanding clinical laboratory research contributing to the understanding, care or prevention of injuries to the knee.

Achilles Orthopaedic Sports Medicine Research Award

Sponsored by DJO, Inc.

The Achilles Orthopaedic Sports Medicine Research Award was created in 1995 to recognize the researchers(s) who have performed the most outstanding clinical or laboratory research in the field of sports medicine, such as the care and prevention of injuries.

Patellofemoral Research Excellence Award

Sponsored by The Patellofemoral Foundation, Inc.

The Patellofemoral Research Excellence Award was conceived in 2005 by the Patellofemoral Foundation and ISAKOS to encourage outstanding research leading to improved understanding, prevention and treatment of patellofemoral pain or instability.

Gary G. Poehling

Gary G. Poehling Award

Former ISAKOS President, Gary G. Poehling, is an innovator, teacher and leader in the field of Arthroscopy--specializing in the elbow, wrist and hand. Beginning at the 2017 ISAKOS Congress in Shanghai, China, a monetary prize in honor of Dr. Poehling is to be awarded to the best Elbow, Wrist and Hand paper read during the scientific program of the ISAKOS Congress.