2025 ISAKOS Congress in Munich, Germany

Albert Trillat Young Investigator's Award

History of the Award

In 1989, The International Society of the Knee established a Young Investigator’s Research Award in memory of Professor Albert Trillat. Past President and founder of the International Society of the Knee, Professor Albert Trillat was one of the pioneers in knee surgery and sports traumatology.

Past Winners

2023 Boston, UNITED STATES

Medial meniscus posterior root repair delays but not avoids histological progression of osteoarthritis: A randomized in vivo experimental study
Lika Dzidzishvili, MD, SPAIN
View Highlight

2021 Global Congress

The Bankart Knee: Biomechanical Consequences of a Posterolateral Tibia Plateau Impression Fracture As Concomitant Injury of ACL Rupture
Danko D. Milinkovic, MD, GERMANY

2019 Cancun, MEXICO

Anterolateral Procedures in Combination with an Anterior Cruciate Ligament Reconstruction: A Biomechanical Analysis of Commonly Used Procedures in a Cadaveric Model
Thomas Neri, MD, PhD FRANCE

2017 Shanghai, CHINA

Anterior Cruciate Ligament Reconstruction With or Without a Lateral Extra-Articular Tenodesis - Early Functional Outcomes of the ISAKOS Sponsored Stability Study
Alan Getgood, MD, FRCS(Tr&Orth), DipSEM CANADA

2015 Lyon, FRANCE

The Role of the Anterolateral Structures and the ACL in Controlling Internal Rotational Knee Laxity
Christoph Kittl, MD AUSTRIA

2013 Toronto, CANADA

Biomechanical Consequences of a Complete Radial Tear Near the Medial Meniscus Posterior Root Attachment Site: In-Situ Pullout Repair Restores Derangement of Joint Mechanics
Jeffrey R. Padalecki, MD USA

2011 Rio de Janeiro, BRAZIL

Double Bundle versus Single Bundle Anterior Cruciate Reconstruction – Is the Double Bundle Technique Really Better?
Timothy S. Whitehead, MBBS, FRACS AUSTRALIA

2009 Osaka, JAPAN

The Effect of Meniscectomy snd Meniscal Allograft Transplantation on Knee and Anterior Cruciate Ligament Biomechanics
Jeffrey T. Spang, MD USA

2007 Florence, ITALY

Optimization of Graft Fixation at the Time of ACL Reconstruction: Part I: Effect of Initial Tension, Part II: Effect of Knee Flexation Angle
Tatsuo Mae, MD Japan

2005 Hollywood, USA

Mechanical Properties of the Articular Cartilage Covered by the Meniscus
Ashvin Thambyah, MS, Aziz Nather, MD, James Goh, PhD, SINGAPORE (all authors)

2003 Auckland, NEW ZEALAND

Semitendinosus Regrowth: Biomechanical, Ultrastructural, and Physiological Characterization of the Regenerate Tendon
Sanjitpal S. Gill, MD, Maria A. Turner, BA, Todd C. Battaglia, MD, Henry T. Leis, MD, Gary Balian, PhD, Mark D. Miller, MD USA (all authors)

2001 Montreux, ITALY

Norimasa Nakamura, MD, PhD JAPAN

1999 Washington DC

Christos D. Papageorgiou, MD GREECE

1997 Buenos Aires, ARGENTINA

Braden C. Fleming, MD USA


Robert LaPrade, MD USA


Bruce D. Beynnon, MD USA


Ulrich Bosch, MD, Werner Kasperczyk, MD GERMANY


Kevin Robert Stone, MD USA

Purpose of the Award

This award provides recognition for a young researcher who has done outstanding clinical laboratory research contributing to the understanding, care or prevention of injuries to the knee.

Application Requirements

To be considered for the Albert Trillat Young Investigator's Award, applicants must first submit an abstract related to clinical laboratory knee research for the ISAKOS Congress followed by the online award application. Applicants must be aged 40 years or less at the time of the 2019 Congress and be the principal investigator of the research submitted. Applicants are required to provide their curriculum vitae, and agree to provide a manuscript following the Journal of ISAKOS criteria if selected as a finalist.

Abstracts and award applications must be submitted before September 10, 2024.

Review Process

All abstracts submitted for the Albert Trillat Young Investigator’s Award will be reviewed by members of the ISAKOS Knee: Sports & Preservation Committee. Five finalists will be chosen based upon a 20 point grading scale scoring the quality of the topic (5 points), clarity of writing (5 points) and scientific quality (10 points). The five finalists are required to submit a blinded and unblinded manuscript following Journal of ISAKOS criteria by the given deadline. The committee will review the manuscripts based upon the same scoring system and will select a winner based on those results.


Registration to the ISAKOS Congress will be waived for the winner. The winner will present the paper after receiving a framed certificate and a cash honorarium of US $3,000 at the ISAKOS Congress. The winning manuscript will also be submitted to Journal of ISAKOS for possible publication.

Note: Individuals are only permitted to receive one award per Congress, per abstract. ISAKOS award recipients, if not already an ISAKOS Member, are required to become an ISAKOS Member prior to receiving their award. One year of Membership dues will waived.