2025 ISAKOS Congress in Munich, Germany

Gary G. Poehling Award

ISAKOS Best Paper - Elbow, Wrist and Hand

History of the Award

Gary Poehling is an innovator, teacher and leader in the field of Arthroscopy, specializing in the elbow, wrist and hand. Dr. Poehling is a former President of ISAKOS and serves as Editor in Chief Emeritus for Arthroscopy: The Journal of Arthroscopic and Related Surgery. Beginning at the 2017 ISAKOS Congress in Shanghai, China, a monetary prize in honor of Gary Poehling is to be awarded to the best Elbow, Wrist and Hand paper read during the scientific program of the ISAKOS Congress.

Past Winners

Purpose of the Award

The Gary Poehling Award was established with the intention of stimulating and rewarding abstracts and presentations in the subject of the Elbow, Wrist and Hand.

Application Requirements

To be considered for the Gary Poehling Award, applicants must first submit an abstract related to Elbow, Wrist and Hand for the ISAKOS Congress, followed by the online award application. Applicants are required to provide their curriculum vitae, and agree to provide a manuscript following the Journal of ISAKOS criteria if selected as a finalist.

Abstracts and award applications must be submitted before September 10, 2024.

Review Process

All abstracts submitted for the Gary Poehling Award will be reviewed by members of the ISAKOS Elbow, Wrist and Hand committee. Four finalists will be chosen based upon the quality of the abstract. The four finalists will be invited to submit a blinded and unblinded manuscript prior to the ISAKOS Congress and must follow the Journal of ISAKOS criteria by the deadline given. The finalists’ manuscripts will be judged using a 30 point scoring system based on the quality of the abstract (10 points), the concept originality and importance (10 points), and experimental design and execution (10 points).


Registration to the ISAKOS Congress will be waived for the four finalists. The first and second place winners will be announced at the ISAKOS Congress, and presented with a framed certificate and an honorarium. The first place presentation will receive US $2,000 with the second place presentation receiving US $1,500. Cash awards will be payable to the university or hospital of the wining physician. Both first and second place manuscripts will be submitted for possible publication in Journal of ISAKOS.

Note: Individuals are only permitted to receive one award per Congress, per abstract. ISAKOS award recipients, if not already an ISAKOS Member, are required to become an ISAKOS Member prior to receiving their award. One year of Membership dues will waived.