2025 ISAKOS Congress in Munich, Germany

Paolo Aglietti Award

Sponsored by Nicolaas C. Budhiparama, Jr. & Inge Widjaja
Nicolaas Institute of Constructive Orthopedic Research & Education Foundation for Arthroplasty & Sports Medicine

History of the Award

ISAKOS is pleased to announce the Paolo Aglietti Award for Knee Arthroplasty. This award is in recognition of Professor Aglietti’s numerous contributions to knee surgery as a prolific researcher, teacher and surgeon. Professor Aglietti served as Chairman of the ISAKOS Knee Committee and was ISAKOS President from 2007-2009.

Past Winners

Purpose of the Award

The Aglietti Award provides recognition for outstanding research contributing to the understanding of Knee Arthroplasty.

Application Requirements

To be considered for the Paolo Aglietti Award, applicants must first submit an abstract related to knee arthroplasty for the ISAKOS Congress followed by the online award application. Applicants must be the principal investigator of the research submitted. Applicants are required to provide their curriculum vitae, and agree to provide a manuscript following the Journal of ISAKOS criteria if selected as a finalist.

Abstracts and award applications must be submitted before September 10, 2024.

Review Process

All abstracts submitted for the Paolo Aglietti Award will be reviewed by members of the ISAKOS Knee Arthroplasty Committee. Five finalists will be chosen based upon a 20 point grading scale scoring the quality of the topic (5 points), clarity of writing (5 points) and scientific quality (10 points). The five finalists are required to submit a blinded and unblinded manuscript following the Journal of ISAKOS criteria by the given deadline. The committee will review the manuscripts based upon the same scoring system and will select a winner based on those results.


Registration to the ISAKOS Congress will be waived for the winner. The winner will present the paper after receiving a framed certificate and a cash honorarium of US $3,000 at the ISAKOS Congress. The winning manuscript will also be submitted to Journal of ISAKOS for possible publication.

Note: Individuals are only permitted to receive one award per Congress, per abstract. ISAKOS award recipients, if not already an ISAKOS Member, are required to become an ISAKOS Member prior to receiving their award. One year of Membership dues will waived.