Patellofemoral Traveling Fellowship

Sponsored by The Patellofemoral Foundation, Inc.

History of the Award

The first ISAKOS Patellofemoral Traveling Fellowship was awarded in 2005 on behalf of ISAKOS and the Patellofemoral Foundation (PFF) providing an opportunity for young orthopaedic surgeons to travel to various medical sites around the world to learn more about patellofemoral disease and how well-respected expert physicians, surgeons and therapists are treating it. At each site the traveling fellow participates in patellofemoral research, patellofemoral surgical procedures, patient management or cadaver dissections in order to broaden their knowledge of the disease. The knowledge learned by the traveling fellow is invaluable and is then passed on to contemporaries, and patients.

Past Winners


Truls M. Straume-Næsheim MD, PhD NORWAY
Elizabeth Rose Dennis MD MS UNITED STATES


View Highlights
Juan Martinez-Cano, MD, MSc, COLOMBIA
Maria Tuca, MD, CHILE


View Highlights
Robert Magnussen, MD, MPH UNITED STATES


Mauro Nuñez, MD, COSTA RICA


Jacqueline Louise Munch MD, USA
Nikolaos K. Paschos MD, PhD. USA


Laurie Hiemstra, MD, PhD, FRCSC, Canada
Shital Parikh, MD, USA


View Report
Ashraf Abdelkafy, MD, Egypt
Geraldo Luiz Schuck De Freitas, MD, Brazil


Nicola Maffulli, United Kingdom
Christian Lattermann, USA
Petri Sillanpaa, Finland
Philip Schoettle, Germany


Elvire Servien, France
Christina Stukenborg, Germany


Ryosuke Kuroda, Japan
Karl F. Almqvist, Belgium

Purpose of the Award

The Patellofemoral Traveling Fellowships are available on a competitive basis to young orthopaedic surgeons interested in the study and advancement of understanding of the patellofemoral joint. The purpose of the fellowship is to promote better understanding and communication around the world regarding patellofemoral pain.

Application Requirements

Applicants are required to submit two short essays (250 words or less), two letters of recommendation and their curriculum vitae. The first short essay must indicate their interest in the patellofemoral joint and reasons for applying for the fellowship and the second short essay should indicate their Academic Goals and Teaching Opportunities. Please ensure submitted CVs include orthopaedic training, including fellowships, list of publications and awards.

Applications are now closed..

Review Process

Applications will be reviewed and winners will be selected by representatives of the ISAKOS Traveling Fellowship Committee, Knee Sports & Preservation Committee, and The Patellofemoral Foundation. Preference will be given to young orthopaedic surgeons who have established an academic record of accomplishment.


Fellowships are awarded once every two years. The recipients will receive waived registration to the ISAKOS congress and will be presented with a framed certificate at the ISAKOS Congress.

For each fellowship recipient, a stipend will be provided to permit visits to several centers, worldwide, that offer opportunities to learn about the complexities of patellofemoral pain. Fellows must complete travel within the designated term and are encouraged, but not required, to travel together. Fellows must document their travels with a written report of the experience.

Note: Individuals are only permitted to receive one fellowship per Congress. ISAKOS fellowship recipients, if not already an ISAKOS Member, are required to become an ISAKOS Member prior to receiving their award. One year of Membership dues will be waived in the year of Congress.